Nelson Oliveira, Custodio, and Miguel Lopes Make Euro 2012 Squad

Paulo Bento released the highly-anticipated squad list for Euro 2012 today, with the inclusion of Nelson Oliveira, Miguel Lopes, and Custodio and the exclusion of Hugo Viana to note. Hugo Viana has enjoyed a wonderful season for Braga, and many were clamoring for his inclusion in the squad for this upcoming European Championship. As it turns out, Viana did not make the team, which was justified by Portugal coach Paulo Bento. He stated simply that “Hugo Viana does not fit in this group.” Bento simply confirmed the theory that many held that Viana had not been called up because he doesn’t fit into Portugal’s formation. Two other Braga players did make the squad, however. Custodio and Miguel Lopes, both uncapped at the senior level for Portugal, have impressed enough this season to earn a call-up from Bento. Below is the full squad list:

Goalkeepers: Rui Patrício (Sporting), Eduardo (Benfica), Beto (Cluj)

Defenders: João Pereira (Sporting), Miguel Lopes (SC Braga), Pepe (Real Madrid), Bruno Alves (Zenit), Rolando (FC Porto), Ricardo Costa (Valencia), Fábio Coentrão (Real Madrid)

Midfielders: João Moutinho (FC Porto), Raúl Meireles (Chelsea), Carlos Martins (Granada), Miguel Veloso (Genoa), Rúben Micael (Zaragoza), Custódio (SC Braga)

Forwards: Cristiano Ronaldo (Real Madrid), Nani (Manchester United), Ricardo Quaresma (Besiktas), Silvestre Varela (FC Porto), Hugo Almeida (Besiktas), Hélder Postiga (Zaragoza), Nélson Oliveira (Benfica)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s