September 28, 2023
Brazilian National Team: with Neymar at 10, CBF defines numbering for Qualifiers

Brazilian National Team: with Neymar at 10, CBF defines numbering for Qualifiers

The Brazilian national team will begin its journey towards the 2026 World Cup this Friday (8). Playing in Belém, capital of the state of Pará, Canarinho faces the Bolivian team, at 21:45 (Brasília time), at the Mangueirão Stadium.

This Thursday afternoon, the list with the official numbers that the athletes of the Brazilian National Team will use in the first two rounds of the competition was released. It is worth remembering that next Tuesday (12), Brazil will face Peru, in Lima, for the 2nd round of the tournament.

Neymar kept wearing the number 10 shirt, as he did in the last two World Cups he played. A number that drew attention was that of Alisson, main goalkeeper in the last two World Cups, who ended up losing prestige with the fans.

However, even though it is not unanimity among Brazilian fans, the goalkeeper has credit with the CBF technical commission, and will share the position with Ederson, from Manchester City, and Lucas Perri, from Botafogo.

Check the official numbering of the Brazilian National Team for the Qualifiers

  • 1 – Alison;
  • 2 – Daniel
  • 3 – Marquinhos
  • 4 – Gabriel Magalhães
  • 5 – Casemiro
  • 6 – Renan Lodi
  • 7 – Raphinha
  • 8 – Bruno Guimaraes
  • 9 – Richarlison
  • 10 – Neymar
  • 11 – Rodrygo
  • 12 – Lucas Perry
  • 13 – Vanderson
  • 14 – Nino
  • 15 – Ibanez
  • 16 – Gaius Henrique
  • 17 – Andrew
  • 18 – Joelinton
  • 19 – Jesus
  • 20 – Veiga
  • 21 – Matheus Cunha
  • 22 – Gabriel Martinelli
  • 23 – Ederson

On social networks, fans evaluate the number of athletes in the Brazilian National Team

The fall to Croatia in the quarterfinals of the World Cup in Qatar, and the recent results for Morocco and Senegal in the post-World Cup friendlies, greatly disappointed Brazilian fans. Despite the party in Belém with the arrival of the athletes, on social networks, internet users are firm when it comes to the Canarinho selection.

And it was no different with the release of the official numbers for Brazil’s first two matches in the Qualifiers. On social networks, fans took the opportunity to evaluate and comment on the number chosen and also make that “criticism”, once again, in relation to Fernando Diniz’s call-up.

How many teams will qualify for the 2026 World Cup?

After 24 years of being played with 32 teams, FIFA decided to innovate for the next edition of the biggest football championship on the planet. In 2026, 48 teams will compete for the title of the best team in the world. With the increase in the contingent of countries, more vacancies were opened for other continents.

In the case of South America, six countries will qualify directly, and one will go to the repechage, with that, there is the possibility that seven South American countries will compete in the next World Cup, which will be played in the United States, Mexico and Canada.

How will the dispute formula for the next World Cup be?

The 48 qualifying teams will be separated into 12 groups of four teams each. The top two ranked teams in each group advance, plus the eight best third-placed teams. With that, the second phase will have 32 countries, and from then on it will be played in a single-game knockout system.

Another novelty for the next World Cup is the number of countries that will host the World Cup. For the first time in history, three countries will receive the teams that will chase the ball, in search of the dream of conquering the world.

The last time more than one country hosted a World Cup was in 2002. That year, South Korea and Japan hosted the World Cup, won by the Brazilian team, which beat Germany in the big decision, in Yokohama, by the score of 2 x 0, with two goals from Ronaldo.

Cities that will host the 2026 World Cup

  • United States: Seattle, San Francisco, Los Angeles, Kansas City, Dallas, Atlanta, Houston, Boston, Philadelphia, Miami and New York/New Jersey;
  • Mexico: Mexico City, Guadalajara and Monterrey;
  • Canada: Vancouver and Toronto.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *