Fluminense has not lost to Vasco at Nilton Santos for 8 years

It took a while, but the hammer was beaten. With São Januário closed and Maracanã closed for works, the derby between Fluminense and Vasco, for the Brazilian Championship, on 09/16 (Saturday), will be at the Nilton Santos Stadium. Home, Cruz-Maltino has not won the Tricolor there since 2015.

Since then, there have been only four games, with three Flu wins and a draw. Vasco’s last victory was in the 2015 Carioca Championship, by 1-0, with a goal by defender Luan. Tricolor used a mixed team and lost to the team then led by Doriva, who would win the competition that year.

In all, there were 15 matches, and the Laranjeiras team also won. There are six tricolor victories and four draws, against four Vasco triumphs.

The history of the confrontation, however, is in favor of Vasco. There are 389 games, with 152 wins by Cruz-Maltino against 123 by Fluminense, in addition to 114 draws.

At Nilton Santos, Fluminense won the Brazilian Championship twice, in 2010 and 2012, in addition to the Carioca Championship also in 2012. Vasco is the only big club in the city that was not champion in the stadium inaugurated in 2007 for the Pan American Games from Rio de Janeiro.

Fluminense has not lost to Vasco since 2019

In addition to the history at Engenhão, what also weighs in Fluminense’s favor is the rival’s lack of victories in the classic. Since 2019, Tricolor has not been defeated by Cruz-Maltino.

There are only eight games, since Vasco was in Série B in 2021 and 2022, and therefore, the years had no clashes in addition to the clashes in the State. Still, it’s one of Flu’s biggest undefeated sequences in the classic.

The biggest one happened between 1969 and 1971, when Fluminense went 13 games without losing to Vasco – eight wins and five draws.

Interestingly, Flu’s current undefeated sequence came right after Vasco’s biggest invincibility in the classic. There were 10 games without Tricolor beating Cruz-Maltino, with seven wins and three draws for Vasco from 2017 to 2019.

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse e-mail ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *